A New Program Year Welcomes New Leadership and Group of Accomplished Honorees

2019 NJMMA Executive Board

In late 2018, a packed banquet hall at the Sheraton Atlantic City rose to applaud the 2019 New Jersey Municipal Management Association Officers and Executive Board, who took their oaths of office at the Association’s annual luncheon and awards ceremony.

Matthew Watkins, from Bloomfield Township, became President of the NJMMA. Alexander McDonald, from the Township of Millburn, became Vice President. Rounding out the 2019 slate of officers are Raymond Codey, from the Borough of Madison, as NJMMA Treasurer, and Anthony Ferrera, from the Township of Hillsborough, as Secretary.

The 2019 Executive Board includes Jerome Barberio, Town of Hammonton; Matthew Cavallo, Township of Verona; Joseph Kostecki, Borough of South Toms River; Stephen LoIacono, Borough of North Arlington; and Theresa S. Casagrande, Borough of Fair Haven, as the Immediate Past President.

The luncheon also included the Association’s annual awards ceremony, recognizing the achievement of members and friends of NJMMA, in their service to the professional management field, municipal government, and their service to their constituents. Recognized this year were:

  • Donna Vieiro, Township Administrator for Holmdel and a Past President of the NJMMA, was recognized with Outstanding Manager Award.
  • Jewel Thompson-Chin, Borough Administrator for Tenafly, received the Distinguished Service Award.
  • Dr. Glen Belnay, Health Officer for the Township of Hillsborough, received the Dr. Thomas R Davy Academic Achievement Award, which recognizes outstanding educators, whether in or out of local government, in the general field of public administration.
  • Mayor Robert Conley, Borough of Madison, was recognized with the Career Development Award, which acknowledges individuals who make significant contributions to the development and training of new municipal management talent.
  • Mayor Michael Venezia, Township of Bloomfield, received the Career Development Award, for his support of professional government management and the support of career development for their municipal staff.
  • Essex County Executive Joseph DiVincenzo received the Executive Board Award for Outstanding Support of Local Government Management.
  • Matthew von der Hayden, Egg Harbor Township, and Frank Pannucci, Point Pleasant Borough, both received the New Professional to Local Government 

In addition, Dr. James Davy was recognized for his 40 years as a member of the NJMMA. Davy, a past NJMMA President, had an esteemed career in municipal and state government, including Township Administrator for Hopewell Township, Township Manager of West Milford, Business Administrator for Woodbridge, Chief of Management and Operations for former New Jersey Governor James McGreevey, and Commissioner of the New Jersey Department of Human Services. Now, Davy serves as the Director of the Center for Applied Appreciative Inquiry at the Rutgers School of Public Affairs and Administration.

Rounding out the awards was a recognition of outgoing NJMMA President Theresa Casagrande (Fair Haven) and Thomas Kenny, Program Coordinator for Rutgers University - Center for Government Services, who was recognized for his support of NJMMA as a Liaison between the University and the association. Service awards were also presented to a number of members acknowledging years of service to NJMMA and to the field.

Congrats to all of this year’s honorees!